Whachootalkingabout? (Part II)

I’m just not hip, it seems. I have difficulty ordering at fast food restaurants. I want to go up to the counter and say something to the tune of, “I’d like a veggie burger, with 2 patties instead of one. The second is to give to my daughter who doesn’t actually eat the bun. Is it possible to get milk with the combo? I’d rather not get the fries, thanks. Maybe salad?” Or, ideally, “I’m relatively hungry, and I have my 5 year old daughter here with me. We’re vegetarian. I have $12 to spend. What’s your advice?”

But it doesn’t work that way. The counter staff wants me to say “Veggie combo, extra patty, fries and cola”, or something like that. They want me to talk like them, I suppose, to make it easier for them to punch it into their till. If that’s what I’m supposed to do, just let me punch in my order. I don’t want to have to learn how to talk to the counter staff, I don’t think I should have to.

What I’m advocating for is a needs analysis approach. Not just in the scenario above, but in life in general. It leads to better communication, and happiness all around. Ultimately, it can save time, energy and resources. The client describes what they want in a way which doesn’t make assumptions on how the provider works, and the provider works with the client to define what is possible.

I’ve been in far too many meetings where buzzwords and catch phrases are misused, and the time it takes to properly define a project in that environment is tremendous.

It’s not rocket science. It’s communication. You talk about what you know, I’ll talk about what I know, and hopefully we’ll get the job done.

Leave a Reply

