Running and Learning: any time, any place, any path, any pace

I was in Vancouver, BC for a wedding this past weekend. The city has so much going for it in terms of its natural beauty. Too bad about the horrendous real estate prices (and the fault line). I was there on vacation, but couldn’t pass up the opportunity to meet up with some of the folks who were in the city for Northern Voice 2011, and some of the fine folks who are part of the ds106 radio community. If you haven’t checked out Northern Voice or ds106 radio, go back and click on those links.

Vancouver has some great places to run, so I did.

kitsalano run

A jet-lagged Easterner on Mountain Time, I was up early and able to take advantage of this “bonus time” to get out and explore. I wasn’t familiar with the city, but thanks to my GPS-enabled phone (as well as signs and helpful fellow runners), I was able to navigate to the sea wall without too much difficulty. From there, I charted my own path and set my own pace to get there. I had a sketchy plan, but took some side-trips to when a new trail caught my curiosity. My “coach”, the voice on my running app who I’ve named Sally, gave me up-to-the minute stats and help, “Time: twelve-point-zero minutes. Distance: one-point-two-kil-ometers”.

When we design courses, curriculum and systems to support teaching and learning, I think we can look to the freedoms and opportunities inherent in the act of running and see what we can learn from the “any time, any place, any path, any pace” tagline. (I’m borrowing that from the Florida Virtual School, who appear to have it trademarked. Let’s hope they don’t mind too much.

Leave a Reply

