Zen & the art of unsubscribing

I’ve made a concerted effort over the past 2 months to actively unsubscribe from email notifications. It’s taken a surprising amount of effort, but I think I’m getting there.

Guess what? I don’t feel like I’m missing out on any last minute deals that I don’t care about, or breaking news about product updates for tools I don’t actually use, or instant notifications when someone I don’t know likes a post I commented on over a year ago.

The unsubscribed way of life may not be for everyone, but if you find you’re complaining about how busy you are and posting updates about how many unread emails you have in your inbox after a vacation, give unsubscribing a try. You might be surprised with the results.

One thought on “Zen & the art of unsubscribing

  1. I’m a big fan of unsubscribing! I’ve done the vacation litmus test too – if I don’t care about it after a couple of weeks away, it’s probably safe to unsubscribe. In a world of push notifications and social media, I figure most important things find another way to get to me. The worst part is when some companies make it annoying/difficult to unsubscribe – if it’s not one-click I’m apt to get angry.

Leave a Reply

